I'm making a game woooo

by drew

Virtual

leave a comment »

I have a Macbook Pro.  I have VMware Fusion. I have Windows XP.

I want to play PC games. I don’t want a PC. I’d rather stay on the legal side of things with my copy of Windows. I don’t want to waste too much hard drive space.

First off, I’m still not convinced that switching to Boot Camp only is the best idea. I’d loose the quick launch ability of Fusion, but in return, I’d get vastly improved speed. For the most part, Fusion’s speed is sufficient for the engineering programs I use for school and for 10-year-old point and click adventure games, but clearly not enough for recent full 3D games.

Sure, I have an Xbox for that and there are some nice games for Mac, but then again, there’s always those where the PC version is the only practical option or a better deal. So what I’ve been thinking about is using a cloning utility to back up my XP virtual machine to my external hard drive and somehow doing something from there. As you could probably guess, I haven’t thought it through that much, it’s more of a little “what if” thing. So any help would be… helpful.

If you’re curious, some of the PC games I’m interested in are the Valve Pack, Deus Ex, Thief, etc.

Written by Drew Wellman

06/10/2009 at 11:40 AM

Posted in Everything

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

