I'm making a game woooo

by drew

Google Wave Mass Hysteria

leave a comment »

Not too long ago, Google announced “Wave.” It seems to be a shiny online collaboration tool made out of pure heroin. Or at least you’d think so by looking at how desperate people are to get their hands on an invite to the exclusive online party. But the obsession seems to have died down; Wave’s been out of the Twitter trending topics for a while now and I’m seeing fewer shameless pleas for invites.

Why all the fuss?

Sure, Wave looks pretty spiffy, and if you do a lot of collaborative work, I could see how it would be useful, but the demand goes beyond that. A lot more people want Wave than need it. Why? Well, for one, it’s new and exclusive. “Gosh, maybe if I can get a Google Wave invite I can finally feel special!” Plus, with the power to invite others comes responsibility, or, conversely, power-hunger. “Sure I’ll invite you… if you make me a moderator on your forum.” These motivating factors have led me to deduce that the hype surrounding Wave and the invites thereto stems at least partially from the economy of scarcity. Since there seems to be only a limited number of spots that Google will allow at this point, the value of an invite increases with time, to the point where invites start showing up on eBay. Because people want into the Google-select so badly, they are willing to pay actual money for a service that they’ll eventually be able to get for free. Of course, since time is money, some people can justify this monetary sacrifice.

I’m biased though, I really wouldn’t have anyone to collaborate with except classmates, but that’s commonly known as cheating. Plus, I haven’t really done any research at all on Wave. Still, I can see the allure of holding such a power, the potential for evil is… staggering. Yes… quite staggering.

Written by Drew Wellman

10/04/2009 at 9:39 PM

Posted in Everything

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

