I'm making a game woooo

by drew

Those Games I Play

leave a comment »

Against my better judgement, I’ve been playing those dreadful timesinks again. A particularly dangerous decision since the games I’ve chosen are beyond hopelessly addictive. For starters, there’s Mass Effect 2. I have by far the highest time playing game to time having a life ratio with this paragon of interesting storytelling and exciting gameplay. In the three weeks I’ve had it, I’ve already beaten it three times and have spent well over 60 hours with my three characters, Batman, Helluva, and Batman again Shepard. I cannot even begin to describe the dozens of things Bioware fixed from the original. Actually, wait. The autosave system is a good start. ME1 autosaved about as often as I update this site and never right before a particularly difficult battle. As such, I found myself manually saving incessantly; by the end, I’d saved over 120 times. By contrast, the average number of saves I used to complete ME2 is about 5. This is also partially due to its 35% cocaine content.

Once I would make the poor decision to sit down and play, I would thoroughly enjoy myself for a while and when I looked at the clock, I would find I’d been playing for over 9 hours straight. I’ve never played a game for that long at once. Unlike many other games, other RPGs in particular, Mass Effect 2 never slogged off and became boring to play. None of the other games I’ve been on to recently have this staying power: Fallout 3 often loses momentum and drifts into monotonous walking about; Dragon Age gets slightly off-putting with the lame accents and the lack of a feeling of real accomplishment, owing to the game’s massive size; Modern Warfare 2’s single player was fun, but no longer offers anything novel, and the multiplayer is a one-way ticket to rage; I’m still on the starting world of KotoR because it starts off slower than ME1 but slightly faster than a dead tortoise in molasses; killer7 cannot be played for too long without overwhelming the player with confusion from the overall trippyness of the experience, leaving them searching for a save spot to get some much needed clarity; I’m stuck in Prince of Persia: Sands of Time and can’t be bothered to look at a walkthrough. What I’m getting at is that Mass Effect 2 is seriously one of the best friggin’ games I’ve played in a really long time.

Finally, let me state, for the record, that playing Super Smash Bros. Brawl with 8 to 13-year-olds is by far the most painful experience you can have with your pants on.

Written by Drew Wellman

02/14/2010 at 1:10 AM

Posted in Everything

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

